#PrithviEdificeT20: Prathamesh Leads Cognizant To Semis, Maersk Joins

Cognizant and Maersk took different routes en-route resounding wins over their opponents to enter the semi-finals of the 2nd Prithvi Edifice Cup 2018 Inter IT T20 Cricket Championship at the PYC Hindu Gymkhana.

In the quarterfinals, Cognisant chased Amdocs’ total to end up with an 8-wicket, while Maersk bowlers did the trick against PTC Software and ended up swinging an 103-run win.

The day began with Amdocs scoring 126/8 which basically was owing to Aawesh Sayyed (40) and Shailendra Bakare (30 n.o).

In reply, Cognizant were helped by the steady Prathamesh Deshpande (63 n.o) who involved himself in two vital partnerships to get past the total in the 15th over.

Prathamesh, first joined hands with Karan Kesarkar (26) for an opening wicket stand of 60-run (45 balls) and later with Preetam Sahu (22) for a 51-run (26-ball) second-wicket partnership that virtually sealed the game in Cognizant’s favour.

Later, Maersk, who were put in to bat, posted the highest score of the day. Aided by responsible knocks by Prasad Girkar (44), Raghav Trivedy (31) and, Tushar Deshpande (27) Maersk did well to score 178/8 even though Anil Girkar (4/29) threatened.

Chasing the target, PTC Software batsmen got caught up with some tidy bowling by Venkatesh Iyer (4/25), Abhishek Rai (2/14) and were shot out for 76! Mangesh Deshpande (24) was the lone batsmen to show some resistance.

Brief Scores

Amdocs: 126 for 8; 20 Overs (Aawesh Sayyed 40 (31, 5×4, 1×6), Shailendra Bakare 30 n.o (23, 3×4, 1×6), Punit Karan 2/21, Rakesh Singh 2/24) lost to Cognizant: 129 for 2; 14.2 Overs (Prathamesh Deshpande 63 n.o (45, 7×4, 2×6), Karan Kesarkar 26, Preetam Sahu 22)

Match Details

Toss: Amdocs won the toss & elected to Bat First
Result: Cognizant won the match by 8 wickets
Man-of-the-Match: Prathamesh Deshpande (Cognizant)

Maersk: 178 for 9; 20 Overs (Prasad Girkar 44 (32, 1×4, 4×6), Raghav Trivedy 31 (21, 7×4), Tushar Deshpande 27, Venkatesh Iyer 20, Anil Girkar 4/29) b PTC Software: 76; 14.4 Overs (Mangesh Deshpande 24 (17, 5×4), Venkatesh Iyer 4/25, Abhishek Rai 2/14)

Match Details

Toss: PTC Software won the toss & elected to Bowl First
Result: Maersk won the match by 103 runs
Man-of-the-Match: Venkatesh Iyer (Maersk)