IT Majors Compete For The Prithvi Edifice Cup 2018 T20 Cricket

Abhay Kele, Chairman, Prithvi Edifice handing caps to the teams at the inauguration

Sixteen top IT companies from the city will challenge each other in the 2ndPrithvi Edifice Cup 2018, an Inter IT T20 Cricket Championship scheduled to begin from March 24, 2018

Returning after a hugely successful run last year this exciting tournament is what the IT sector is eagerly awaiting. While with the total number of participants remain the same, this yea, it includes 4 new entrants in the list of participating teams.
The one-and-a-half-month-long tournament will be organised by White Copper, and being today.
Abhay Kele, Chairman, Prithvi Edifice at the inauguration ceremony

Abhay Kele, Chairman, Prithvi Edifice, said, “Sports plays a vital role in keeping you active, be it in corporate or your personal life. This tournament is an apt medium to spread awareness on the need and benefits of a healthy lifestyle amongst the IT fraternity.”

Kele added Cricket is a team game and great teamwork is the backbone of every successful company. And what better way to learn teamwork, than through the country’s favourite sport, cricket which is also a great stress buster.
The tournament will be played on a league and knock-out format with matches only on weekends (Saturday and Sunday). The teams have been divided into 4 groups of four teams each, with the Top-2 from each group advancing into the knock-out phase, which begins with the quarterfinals.
PYC Hindu Gymkhana ground and the Nehru Stadium ground will be used for the entire tournament.
The final has been scheduled for 29th April, 2018, which will conclude a marathon 31-matches played over 12 days.
The participants teams include; Amdocs Development Center India, Bitwise, Cognizant, FIS, Jonson Controls of India, Maersk Global Service Centre, Mindtree, Parametric Tech Corporation, Persistent Systems Ltd., Sungard IT Availablity India Pvt Ltd, Symantec, Tata Consultancy Services, Tieto, Veritas, Wipro Technologies and Yardi.
Abhay, added; “The number of teams is a sign of the sport gaining popularity in the IT sector. We are immensely satisfied with the response and we are happy that is has been so widely accepted and enjoyed by the sector.
The winner of the championship will be awarded INR 40000, while the runners up will be presented with INR 30000. Additionally awards will also include 31 Man of the Match Trophies, and cash awards for Man of the Series (INR.5000), Best Batsman (INR 5000), and Best Bowler (INR 5000).
Participating Teams:
Group A: Cognizant, Sungard, Tieto, Wipro;
Group B: Amdocs Development Center India, Bitwise, Symantec, Yardi;
Group C: Jonson Controls of India, Maersk Global Service Centre, Persistent Systems Ltd., Veritas;
Group D: FIS Gobal, Mindtree, Parametric Tech Corporation, Tata Consultancy Services.
Stay tuned for some nail-biting corporate cricketing !